RSS Feed

Sweet November Applesauce

I love a cozy house, and I especially love when it smells like the holidays! The aroma of food simmering away on the stove, or cookies in the oven, even cinnamon or all spice notes wafting around the kitchen get me all excited for family and for the winter!

This past weekend I wanted to make something that was both cozy, healthy, easy, and a little out of the ordinary from my usual go-to items. I decided that home-made apple sauce was just the thing!

This recipe is seriously simple, only calling for four ingredients! I let it simmer away for half of the day in a slow cooker, and boy did it turn out delish! Also, depending on how you like the texture of your applesauce, if you have an immersion blender, now is the time to take it out, even though the only kitchen items you truly need consist of a pot and a potato masher!

Add a little something  cozy to your Thanksgiving left-overs this weekend with this home-made applesauce recipe!

~ Sweet November Applesauce ~

Ingredients:

11 small or 8 large Gala or Pink Lady apples (I do a combo of both)

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 cup of water

1/4 cup or less of brown sugar (or white sugar)

Directions:

1. Wash and dice apples as shown below:

2. Throw them in a slow cooker or large pot.

3. Add 1 cup of water, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 cup of brown or white sugar.

4. Cook for at least 2 hours or until apples are easily mashable and tender.

5. Enjoy with family and friends!

Why I love this recipe:

Well I think the over-riding theme is that to me, making applesauce is cozy! I love how it makes my house smell, and I love, love love how it tastes! It is also a healthy alternative to typical desserts- just serve with a sugar cookie or two! 🙂

Leave a Reply

