RSS Feed

Let’s Talk Turkey!

 

Why hello fellow readers! Let me start out by saying that I apologize for my lack of blog posts this past week and a half. The truth is I started a new job, and it has been taking up most of my time, BUT where there is a will there is a way! Between my deep love for cooking, and the great enjoyment I get from sharing my recipes with all of you, there is definitely a way! 🙂

This past weekend I had my first ever Thanksgiving Extravaganza, and boy do I have a lot of friends to be thankful for! This gathering consisted of over 39 lbs of turkey, two kinds of potatoes, two kinds of stuffing, mashed sweet potatoes, a green bean casserole, mac-and-cheese, gravy, cranberry sauce, (home-made and from the can), rolls, and don’t get me started on the dessert!

*Takes deep breath! * Pumpkinapplepecanpiepumpkincheesecakebarsandmuffinswithbananapumpkinnutellabread and more pie! Phew! Good thing it was a pot-luck style party!

Before I continue any further, I just wanted to say that if it wasn’t for being able to watch my Uncle Mark through the years, adding a bit of this and that to each dish at Thanksgiving, I would have literally been in the dark with this whole thing! My Uncle Mark is the gravy and turkey KING as far as I’m concerned, and rules the kitchen on most family holidays! Lucky for me, this past weekend I was able to channel my inner Markey and offer a decent Thanksgiving turkey to all that joined!  ❤ you Uncle Mark!

SO let’s talk turkey! I’m not going to lie, this was my first encounter with actually making the bird, I’m usually the sides girl… But I have to say that being in charge of the bird was quite an honor this time around! Such an honor in fact, I got a little too serious about it… See what I mean???

I wanted to keep it traditional but at the same time add my own personal touch, and that is where citrus came into the mix! Adding one entire juicy orange along with one tart lemon, garlic, sage, rosemary and small brown onion, distinctly cut through the heaviness that is so closely associated with Thanksgiving dinener. Have a look at the recipe below and try it for yourself!

 ~*~ Citrus Herbed Turkey ~*~

Ingredients:

1 large Thanksgiving worthy turkey

1/4 cup of canola oil

1/2 stick of butter

Handful of Sage

Handful of Rosemary

1 large and juicy orange (the brighter orange, the better!)

1 lemon

1 small-medium sized brown onion

3 cloves of garlic

Salt

Pepper

Lawry’s seasoning

Garlic Powder

Directions:

1. Wash the bird, inside out with warm water, being sure to take out any giblets that may have been left inside.

2. Pre-heat the oven to 500 degrees on the bake setting.

3. Microwave the orange and lemon for 30 seconds to release some of the juices, and then roll a few times on a cutting board and set aside.

4. Peel and cut the onion in half and place inside the cavity of the bird.

5. Cut both the lemon and orange in half, squeezing the juices over the turkey and placing the squeezed orange and lemon peel into the cavity.

6. Throw in one peeled garlic clove in as well.

7. Next stuff both the sage and the rosemary around the citrus pieces (remember, its important to get the fresh herbs as far in as possible so they don’t burn.

8. Take the remaining two peeled garlic cloves and using your finger, gently slide one garlic clove between the skin and the actual meat part of the turkey. I like to put the garlic cloves in the crevasse between the turkey leg and lower breast!

9. Next take your canola oil and with a pastry brush (or your fingers) coat all the turkey skin with the oil.

10. Liberally sprinkle with the Salt, Pepper, garlic powder and Lawry’s seasoning.

11. Tipping the bird back a bit, pour one cup of hot water into the cavity… Don’t worry if some spills out.

12. Place in the oven at 500 degrees for 30 minutes on the lowest oven rack. I check mine at 25 minutes to make sure the top isn’t burning.

13. After 30 minutes, reduce the heat to 325, and take the bird out and smother it in the 1/2 stick of butter. I feel that fingers are the best tools for this job!

14. Cook for another hour at 325 and then using a turkey baster, pour some of the liquids over the top. Continue doing this for another 21/2-31/2 hours or until the internal temperature of the turkey is at a minim of 165 degrees.

15. Let rest at least 20 minutes on a grooved cutting board before carving!

Enjoy!

Why I love this recipe:

Food always seems to taste better when its being shared with family and close friends. Though I’m not the biggest fan of actually dressing the bird with stuffing, adding aromatics inside the turkey not only adds a better taste, but a more visual pleasing presentation. Though citrus is mostly associated with summer, there is still something warm and cozy about the subtle taste of orange and lemon when combined with sage and rosemary. I hope you enjoy roasting your turkey as much as I did, until next time… Happy cooking and happy early Thanksgiving! x0

Leave a Reply

