RSS Feed

Candied Bacon Cashews…. Bow Chica Wow wow!

Every now and again, a recipe so brilliant and innovative comes along that it literally makes me take flight with joy. This is exactly what happened this past weekend after I boarded flight 400 from San Francisco to L.A.! I couldn’t help but take a peek at the good old ‘Spirit’ Magazine located in the backs of most Southwest chairs. Just as the flight attendant finished showing us where all four emergency exits were,  I came across this little number…. Candied Bacon Cashews. 

I’m still not sure if it was my heart literally jumping out of my chest , or if it was simply the feeling of being air born, but a wave of pure bliss encompassed me at the sight of such a recipe.

Bacon and cashews together? But of course! Why hadn’t I thought of this?

I am not a self proclaimed bacon lover, but this recipe just sounded so good…Three amazing flavors all combined into one sexy and sophisticated candy snack… could it really be?

I immediately  imagined these cashews being served in a cigar smoke-filled, dark mahogany wood laden, New York city bar. I also imagine they will be making an appearance at my Thanksgiving dinner party next month! (ahem!)

Now, I am a big advocate of giving credit where credit is due, so here is the deal… This recipe is the culinary work of Colin Lynch, Executive Chef at ‘Drink’ in Boston and here is how to make these naughty little gems!

~ Candied Bacon Cashews ~

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
1  & 1/4 lbs raw cashews
1/4 cup diced bacon
Half the bacon fat (reserved for later)
1 tablespoon cold butter
Smoked salt (Sea salt will work just fine too!)

Directions:
1. Combine sugar and water in saucepan and heat until boiling.
2. Add cashews and stir continuously until the water evaporates and sugar is carmalized.

3. Stir in the bacon pieces!!

4. Turn off heat and add the bacon fat, butter and smoked salt to taste.
5. Transfer to a greased cookie sheet to cool, then break apart and serve!

Why I love this recipe:

I am a big fan of personalizing snacks or appetizers when I have people over… Attention to detail is important when you want to make a gathering extra special. Cashews by themselves are great, but why not add a delicious and personal touch by spending a little extra time to create this absolutely divine version.

Serve these bacon kissed cashews with a fancy drink, like a Kettle martini or a Manhattan perhaps, and I guarantee your guests will not stop praising your efforts!

Happy snacking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

