RSS Feed

Home-Made Pumpkin Spice Latte’s

It was raining out, the sky was gray and I was stuck at work for the next three hours. I needed a little cozy pick-me-up, and I couldn’t think of anything better than a steamy, pumpkin-spice latte from “the bucks,” to remind me of Thanksgiving and the holidays with the fam-bam down in La La land… (aka: L.A.) As I drank my seasonal caffeinated treat, a wave of fear came over me as  I realized that come January, this delicious beverage I was so carelessly enjoying, would be no more! I would have to wait until next September to get my fix.

So like any good caffeine addict, I decided that I would NOT have it, and came up with a plan to make it myself! “How hard could it be?” I thought! Well after doing a little research, I came to find out that it isn’t hard at all! (Phew, a sigh of relief!) After some trial and error, I think I came up with a not-too-sweet, not too spicy Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte that you are sure to love from the comfort of your own home! (Side note: Wearing P.J.’s or slippers while making these latte’s only enhance the over-all experience!)

The key lies in making a proper pumpkin base to add to your coffee or espresso, because the rest is easy breezy! The great thing about this ‘base’ if you will, is that you can blend it all together it a couple of days ahead of time, and use it in the mornings when you’re slim on time and rushing out of the house! If you can make any old cup of joe, you can make this, I promise! I am also happy to say that this recipe is a healthier alternative to Starbucks’ version, which can actually run you 300-500 calories a pop!

Between the turkey and Christmas cookies up ahead, I don’t need to also worry about how many calories I’m drinking! I hope you find a way to sip up the fall season this with fun and easy latte recipe, and don’t forget to add a little spice to your morning  routine! 🙂

Thanks to Lauren Conrad for the inspiration behind this recipe!

~ Home-Made Pumpkin Spice Latte’s ~

Serves 2 snuggle bunnies

1 cup of water
2 tablespoons coffee
1 cup milk (regular, almond, rice, or soy)
2 tablespoons canned pumpkin puree
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice blend
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons honey (or agave)
2 tablespoons of home-made whip cream
1 pinch of ground nutmeg (optional)

Directions: 

  1. Brew one cup of coffee or 2 shots of espresso using water.
To Make the Syrup:
  1. In saucepan over low heat, whisk together milk, pumpkin puree, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, vanilla extract and honey. (Optional: You can also mix these ingredients in a blender first and then pour the mixture into a saucepan for heating.)
  2. Add in coffee and mix well.
  3. Stir mixture for another minute or two until hot.
  4. Pour half of the mixture into your favorite mug, top it off with home-made whip cream and a dash of nutmeg…Enjoy!

Why I love this recipe: To start, it is awesome in the mornings… It is also just as awesome in the afternoons when I need a sweet treat, or for ‘an after dinner’ dessert! Serve this little number with a slice of apple or pumpkin pie, and I guarantee you will glow with glee just like a jack-o-lantern! If you’re feeling super naughty, drizzle some rich caramel sauce over the top for an extra sweet surprise! YUM!



Leave a Reply

