RSS Feed

B’s Banana Bread

We’re going bananas over here!

I’m telling you right now, this recipe is the best thing since sliced bread! Not only is it one of my families secret recipes, it has been passed down by 4 generations of banana bread loving women, and typically makes a very quick appearance at most family holiday gatherings. I enjoy trying minor additions of chocolate or nuts here and there, but never care to veer too far from the perfected and original recipe.

This is one of the first, if not THE first thing I ever baked on my own when I was a kid. I have made it so many times since then, that I have practically memorized the measurements and ingredients! (Don’t ask me to name all the U.S. Presidents, but a banana bread recipe I can do!)

This recipe is tried and true, and there is no doubt in my mind that it will quickly become a family favorite at your house as well! There is one secret ingredient that I did not list below, and it is  a main component to making this bread.  You cannot find at the grocery store… (unless you’re at the Castro Safeway off Market St)… and the ingredient is LOVE. By adding a dash of love as you stir, it is impossible to mess up! (hehe!) Have fun with this very secret banana bread recipe, passed down by my Great-Grandma B!

~ B’s Banana Bread ~

Makes about 12 slices

Ingredients:

*Cooking spray

Dry Mix 

2 cups of flour

1/2 tsp of baking soda

1/2 tsp of baking powder

1/4 tsp of salt

Wet Mix

3 ripe (kinda brownish, but not molding) bananas

1 cup white sugar

2 eggs

3 tbsp milk

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 stick or 1/2 cup of unsalted butter (melted)

1/2 chocolate chips or white chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees.

2. Grease a bread ‘loaf’ pan with cooking spray.

3. Slice all three bananas into 1/2 inch thick slices.

4. In a large mixing bowl add the bananas and sugar, and with a potato masher (yes I’m serious), mash away for a couple of minutes or until the sugar is completely dissolved and it looks like you’ve made banana soup!

5. Add the milk and eggs to the bananas and sugar mixture, and give it a little stir.

6. In a medium size mixing bowl combine all dry ingredients together (flour, baking soda and powder and salt).

7. Melt your stick of unsalted butter (An easy way to do this is to unwrap it, stick the butter in a coffee mug, and pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds). Once melted set aside, we don’t need it quite yet.

8. Slowly add the dry mix to the wet, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly, but gently. (FYI: There is no need to sift the flour!).

9. Once combined, add the melted butter to the batter and the vanilla. Slowly stir until both liquids have been absorbed.

10. If you wish, now is the time to add your chocolate chips, or whatever else your heart desires! My only advice to you is to not add more than a cup worth of additions here!

11. Pour the batter into your bread pan, and place in the middle rack of your pre-heated 325 degree oven for one hour.

12. Using a tooth pick, check the middle of the domed bread to make sure its cooked through…sometimes I will leave mine in for an extra 5 minutes.

13. Once done cooking, let it rest/cool down in the pan for at least 30 minutes before serving! …And then grab yourself a slice! 🙂

Why I love this recipe:

I have attempted other banana bread recipes in the past when I didn’t have this one on hand, or memorized while in college and lemme tell ya, this one really takes the cake. I love the fact that it has been in my family for so long, and that its pretty simple to make… Oh, I also love that it prevents you from having to throw away those browning (not rotting) ‘naners!

2 responses »

  1. So I am really going to attempt this this weekend 🙂 thanks for sharing it! I’ll let you know how it goes…hopefully well because I have had this craving a couple days now. And this may sound like an awkward list topic BUT my friend created a list on “Top ‘Period’ Cravings” lol and since it is a craving, I added your recipe to the list > http://www.skinnyscoop.com/list/claudia/top-period-cravings ..hope you don’t mind!

    Reply
  2. Haha, that is awesome Jackie! Add away, and thank you for doing that. I really hope you like the recipe, email me with any Q’s at simmerblog@gmail.com! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

